The Canadian Premier League (CPL) today announced the winners of the league’s inaugural CPL Business Awards, which honour outstanding achievements at both the team and the executive level in areas such as ticketing, partnerships, merchandise, fan and community engagement, and more.

“Every year we recognize outstanding performances on the field, but there is so much more than on-field success that goes into making this league what it is,” said Glen Johnson, Executive Vice President, Canadian Premier League. “It was important to us to start recognizing the off-field achievements that can go under-appreciated, and it was a pleasure to give just some of the hard-working people in this league the credit they deserve for making the CPL’s milestone fifth season our most successful yet.

“In launching both a league-wide business summit and the CPL Business Awards in 2023, we are building relationships and establishing best practices between our member clubs from coast to coast that will help inspire and incentivize all of our teams as they continue to look for ways to evolve in their individual markets.”


Forge FC’s 2023 CPL Business Award winners include:

Rookie of the Year Award

Awarded by the Commissioner to a business executive who is new to the CPL or has recently moved into a new role and has made a major impact on their club’s off-field success. This winner has made an immediate impact in their new role, raising the bar within both their club and the league through dedication, smarts and a team-first mentality.

Winner: Nicole Demers, Forge FC

In her first season as Vice President, Business Operations for Forge FC, Demers — who oversees all business verticals for the club, including ticket sales, community programming and marketing — led Forge to a record-breaking season. She and her team brought in the highest revenue for a Forge home opener and set club records for attendance at a CPL Final and revenue. Nicole also founded successful community-minded initiatives like the Spark Summit, which connects and inspires professional women in the sport and entertainment industry, and led numerous new initiatives to enhance the fan experience at Forge matches, including the championship medal giveaway at the club’s home opener and international night.

Partnership Activation of the Year

Awarded to the club that produced the most impactful and engaging partnership activation.

Winner: Forge FC

Forge FC celebrated its third CPL Championship during its 2023 home opener, when fans in attendance were all provided with a limited edition replica championship medal. The giveaway helped the club achieve record numbers for a regular season match in several categories, including highest ticket revenue, highest match-day revenue, most single game tickets sold and highest merchandise sales per person.

Top Group Sales (Revenue)

Awarded to the club that produced the highest revenue of group sales throughout the season.

Winner: Forge FC

Top Season Seat Member Net Growth

Awarded to the club with the highest net growth of season seat members for the 2023 season.

Winner: Forge FC

Top Jersey Sales (Units)

Awarded to the club with the most number of jerseys sold by unit.

Winner: Forge FC


2023 Canadian Premier League Business Award Winners

Top Group Sales (Tickets Sold) – Atlético Ottawa

Top Group Sales (Revenue) – Forge FC

Top Single Match Sales Promotion (Tickets Sold) – Atlético Ottawa

Top Single Match Sales Promotion (Revenue) – Halifax Wanderers FC

Top Season Seat Member Net Growth – Forge FC

Top Season Seat Member Retention – Halifax Wanderers FC

Top Partnership Sales Team – Cavalry FC

Top Jersey Sales (Units) – Forge FC

Top Jersey Sales (Revenue) – Pacific FC

Fan Engagement Award – Cavalry FC (1975 Club presented by Carscallen LLP)

Partnership Activation of the Year – Forge FC (Championship Medal Giveaway)

Social Media Activation of the Year – Atlético Ottawa (Wally the T Rex Campaign)

Community Impact Award – Atlético Ottawa (Pay What You Can Home Opener)

Rookie of the Year – Nicole Demers

Business Executive of the Year – Derek Martin, President & Founder, HFX Wanderers

Club of the Year – Atlético Ottawa

Commissioner’s Award – Josh Simpson, President, Pacific FC, Dean Shillington, Owner, Vancouver FC, and Rob Friend, President, Vancouver FC